FNINR Announces 2023 Award Winners!

Each year at the Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research (FNINR) Annual NightinGala, FNINR bestows awards to truly deserving candidates who are nominated by their peers. This year’s awards were presented on October 4, 2023 during the 30th Anniversary FNINR NightinGala at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, DC.

The Ada Sue Hinshaw Nurse Scholar Award is considered the pre-eminent award given by FNINR and is named in honor of the first permanent Director of the National Institute of Nursing Research. Recipients have a substantive and sustained program of science that would afford her/him recognition as a prominent senior scientist.

This year’s recipient is Margaret Heitkemper, PhD, RN, FAAN, a prominent nurse scientist from the University of Washington who has a substantive and sustained program of science in health and gender research.

The Faye Glenn Abdellah Leadership Award is named for the renowned researcher, whose vision resulted in inestimable value created by nurse scientists over the years. The award is presented to an organization or individual with a sustained or lasting impact on nursing science, either through advocacy, institutional leadership, or individual program of research that has led to the public awareness of nursing science in improving health at the individual and/or population levels.

This year the award was bestowed upon Cheryl Himmelfarb, PhD, RN, FAAN, from John Hopkins University, for leadership with sustained and impactful research related to cardiovascular health equity.

The Welch/Woerner Path-Paver Award is given to a mid-to-late career nurse scientist who has achieved one or more breakthroughs in theory development, research methods, instruments, or subject matter that has paved the way for other scientists and influenced/mentored the next generation of nurse scientists.

This year the recipient is Kathryn H. Bowles, PhD, RN, FAAN, FACMI, from the University of Pennsylvania, for career excellence and breakthroughs in clinical decision support.

The President’s Award is awarded to a nurse researcher with sustained contributions in the field. This year the theme was aimed at research that explores health promotion and/or disease prevention in children and/or adolescents.

This year's recipient is Dianne Morrison-Beedy, PhD, RN, WHNP, CGNC, FFNMRCSI, FNAP, FAANP, FAAN, from the Ohio State University, for significant and sustained research in health promotion.

The Protégé Award is given to an evolving nurse scientist who shows great promise in advancing science and who is within the first 6 years of completing either their PhD or Post-Doctoral study.

This year the award has two recipients: Paule V. Joseph, PhD, EMBA, CRNP, FAAN, from the National Institutes of Health, for research initiatives on the role of chemo sensations on ingestive pathways; 

and Veronica Barcelona, PhD, MSN, RN, PHNA-BC, from Columbia University, for research initiatives on the impact of racism on maternal health outcomes.

Congratulations to the 2023 FNINR award winners!

Share this post:

Comments on "FNINR Announces 2023 Award Winners!"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment