2020 FNINR Award Nominations Are Now Closed


The 2020 FNINR Award Categories are below:

Ada Sue Hinshaw Award
The Ada Sue Hinshaw Award is considered the pre-eminent award given by FNINR named in honor of the first permanent Director of the National Institute of Nursing Research. Recipients have a substantive and sustained program of science that would afford her/him recognition as a prominent senior scientist.

The President's Award
The President’s Award is given based on a specific theme established by the President of FNINR and varies annually. This year, the theme is “academia and clinical practice collaborative research” aimed at research that engages academia and clinical practice partners and bridging both contexts for the application of nursing and health care research, including new knowledge that promotes and improves the health of individuals, families, and communities through symptom science, wellness, self-management of chronic conditions, or end-of-life and palliative care; research that advances the role of the nurse in academic and clinical practice collaboration; research that advances collection and analysis of expanded core data sets to discern collaborative impact; research that advances academia and care setting collaboration through technological solutions to improve care are some areas that could be considered.

Welch/Woerner Path-Paver Award
The Welch/Woerner Path-Paver Award is given to a mid-to-late career nurse scientist who has achieved one or more breakthroughs in theory development, research methods, instruments, or subject matter that has paved the way for other scientists and who has influenced and mentored the next generation of nurse researchers.

Faye Glenn Abdellah Award
The Faye Glenn Abdellah Leadership Award is named for this renowned nurse researcher. Faye Abdellah’s vision has resulted in inestimable value created by nurse scientists over the years. This award will go to an organization or individual with a sustained or lasting impact on nursing science either through advocacy, institutional leadership, or individual program of research that has led to the public awareness of the value of nursing science in improving health at the individual and/or population levels.

Protégé Award
The Protégé/Protegee Award is given to an evolving nurse scientist who shows great promise in advancing science and who is within the first 6 years of completing either the PhD or Post-Doctoral study.


View a complete list of historic awards provided by FNINR here.