Each year at the Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research (FNINR) Annual NightinGala, FNINR bestows awards to truly deserving candidates who are nominated by their peers. This year’s awards were presented on October 4, 2023 during the 30th Anniversary FNINR NightinGala at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, DC.

The Ada Sue Hinshaw Nurse Scholar Award is considered the pre-eminent award given by FNINR and is named in honor of the first permanent Director of the National Institute of Nursing Research. Recipients have a substantive and sustained program of science that would afford her/him recognition as a prominent senior scientist.